2000AD TV INTERVIEW

Last month I was interviewed by Jose Barbosa for Media3, a magazine show on New Zealand’s TV3.  I’m only on there for a couple of minutes, but the the feature also includes 2000AD editor Matt Smith and Rich Johnston from bleedingcool.com.

Here’s a link to the show, the 2000AD feature kicks in around 15:00 minutes.

Jose and his cameraman came to my house to do the interview, so my wife snapped a few pics of them setting up.  I was very impressed by the lighting: they ran on battery packs.  I pointed out this marvel of technology to my wife, but she didn’t share my enthusiasm.  Also impressive was Jose’s modus operandi: they drove down to Colchester from London during rush hour, and spent no more than an hour in my house, before zipping off back to the capital, without even a cup of tea or a beer for refreshment. Such professionalism!

jose barbose interview1

jose barbose interview2

jose barbose interview4

11 thoughts on “2000AD TV INTERVIEW

  1. Good interview. I was surprised about the circulation numbers, it should be a lot higher. After all 2000AD is doing fantastically well, I think, from what I’ve seen recently. Superb quality. I bet it has more to do with how it appears on shelves…I always found it’s circulation and arrival spotted and unpredictable. I gave my own boys some classic comics last week (Moebius and some US Dredd reprints my son spotted… with Mike McMahon on the cover). But it was no competition to the games they picked up that day. It made me wonder if I would have been interested in comics at all if I had such immersive games at hand as a child. Probably. But then I was lucky to find a particularly compelling vein….because I’m still not interested in most comics that I see to be honest.

    • There’s undoubtedly more competition today, but the French have a strong comic industry and Games Workshop also keep their young audience.

      In comics, the biggest difficulty is that within the business many professionals would prefer to write/draw/produce comics for adult fans, rather than kids and that’s why so many comics died. Producing comics for mainstream audience and kids is an art form that has been neglected. What kids will go for is not necessarily “young” and it has to be cool and reflect their lives , but what fans want is often quite different. I’m covering this soon in my blog about the time when fandom first entered 2000AD.

  2. I hadn’t thought of that, I look forward to the post. I seem to recall Jim Baikie saying some of his fondest memories of drawing comics were working on titles designed for girls (trying to remember the name…’Mandy’ perhaps??) and children’s titles. I thought of that again recently when I saw your post on MISTY ( perhaps that was the comic he worked on). I can see the interest in working on those stories now. It wasn’t that long ago everybody trumpeted the ‘coming of age’ of comics…in fact they still do. Today there is something tedious about every title being ‘adult’-erated. There has to be a way to market a kids title that everyone can be proud of, in fact a story that everybody can read without feeling they are being talked down to or offended, not positioned for any age group at all, but all ages. I think DC do various maturity level Batman series…that’s got to be a headache.

    • I agree. Problem is the majority of comic professionals aren’t interested in aiming at “kids” or indeed at mainstream popular culture. To get it right, you cannot do your own thing (which is generally why pros don’t like it). It involves listening to kids very carefully and often providing something that’s polar opposite to what fans or older readers want. It’s challenging but very rewarding. Girls comics are the most rewarding of all to write. But no one wants to do them or even reprint them, even though their commercial viability is in no doubt. A sad comment on the blinkered nature of our industry as it continues to shrink while endlessly preening itself on its sophistication

  3. I started reading 2000ad comics stealing my brothers’ comics & immediately became addicted. The Slaine story has been a big influence as I ended up studying history, archaeology & early Irish. Interesting that you worked on girls comics as most people seem to think females couldn’t read or enjoy comics for genetic reasons. I still have lots of ‘Misty’ annuals & wish my imagination was as active as it used to be. I have recently started reading old issues again. My brother never stopped collecting comics & I will once again raid his collection. Have to agree about the bookshelves being nice…probably not Ikea then…if you put hardback books on ‘billy’ bookshelves they collapse. Yours enjoying 2000ads again. Mags

  4. (In the unlikely defence of Billy Bookcases… I have a basement of wall to wall Billy Bookcases and I have stocked them with more than 20 years of progs, a complete collection of The Meg, and a large collection of books, hard backed and otherwise and they haven’t collapsed yet!)

Leave a Reply

